Recently, many users have been reporting that their Snapchat accounts have been deleted without reason. Some have reported it being due to spamming, but many have not found any reason for the deletion.
Many people rely on Snapchat as their main form of communication and social media, so the deletion of an account can be upsetting. Luckily, there is an easy way to re-download the app and create a new account if needed!
With all the controversy surrounding Facebook lately, more and more people are wondering: Is it time to delete your Facebook account? Is there a foolproof way to escape Mark Zuckerberg’s virtual grasp? The answer may surprise you: Maybe not. You could probably stay on Facebook without compromising your privacy or your safety, but you’re going to have to put in some work if you want to get rid of it. It’s up to you whether that effort is worth it.
My account was deleted for no reason
It’s not uncommon to hear stories about Snapchat accounts being deleted for no apparent reason. Many believe it has to do with the company’s new paid features, like Geofilters and Lenses.
In recent months, there have been numerous reports of users experiencing issues with the app after trying to use one of the paid features. Some users reported that their accounts were disabled after trying to use a Lens, while others had their accounts disabled after creating a Geofence around their location.
It seems as though the company is targeting users that try to use the paid features, which is kind of scary if you pay for them.
Many people rely on social media apps for business and personal use, so having an account disabled can have a serious impact. It is fair for Snapchat to have security measures in place to keep fraudulent accounts from being created, but completely deleting an account without cause seems extreme.
They didn’t give me a reason
As mentioned above, when you delete your Snapchat account, they do not give you a reason as to why they are deleting your account.
However, according to Snapping Tips, if you have been reported by numerous people for bullying or harassment, or if your account is suspected of being a bot or spam account, they will issue a warning or chance to reform before deleting the account.
If you have an old phone that is no longer compatible with the app then they will also give you a warning and tell you that you need to update your phone in order to use the app again.
Unfortunately, if you do not have an updated phone then you will have to choose to either keep the app and not access it anymore or delete it. There is no way to completely take down the app unless you have an old one.
I am very upset about this
Despite its downsides, many people enjoy using Snapchat. It is a fun way to communicate with friends and family. Plus, you get to do a little self-promotion when you post stories!
However, if you are thinking about creating a Snapchat account, you should be warned: it may cause too much FOMO.
In fact, one of the main reasons people delete the app is because they feel left out of the loop. Everyone is on Instagram now, and if you’re not posting on that, then you’re not worth looking at.
Apparently, this feeling of inferiority is so strong that it can lead to total Snapchat deletion. And I am not kidding when I say total deletion—I mean absolutely no trace of the app left on your phone.
If you are thinking about doing this, I strongly recommend taking some time to think about why you’re doing it—and whether or not it’s really worth it.
I lost all of my friends
Unfortunately, once you delete your account, you can never return to the app. Once you’re off the platform, you’re off for good.
Unfortunately, this is the case if you are forced to delete your account. If Snapchat deletes your account because they suspect you of wrongdoing, there’s no way to prove your innocence.
Since all communication is done through the app, there’s no way to reach out to anyone else to verify who you are. You just have to trust that they will re-enable your account after they take action against yours.
If you really want to leave the platform but are unsure if you want to delete or not, it might be worth it to create a backup account first.
I spent a lot of time on Snapchat
Many users have said that they spent a lot of time on the app, only to realize how much time they were spending. Many have even made jokes about how Snapchat will eventually be the end of their life.
Many people have also said that they spend too much time on Snapchat, and that it has caused them to worry about how much time they’re spending on it.
However, no one has ever had their account deleted for no reason. Unfortunately, this happened to Alyssa Navarro, a sports broadcaster who had over 70,000 followers on her personal account. She was using the app to promote her work and connect with her followers, so having it suddenly disappear meant a lot to her.
She recently wrote an article for The Cut about her experience having her account deleted and what she had to do in order to get back onto the app. Read more at The Cut.
They should have an option to save our stories
It seems like the only way to save a Snapchat is to screenshot or take a picture of it with another camera. But that’s not the case!
There’s a third option: your camera roll. You can take a screenshot or picture of your camera roll and then check your stories from there.
Unfortunately, this doesn’t work if you have no access to the app or your account has been deleted. Which seems to be what happened to some users who were trying to save their Snaps.
Some people are calling for an emergency button that saves snaps before they disappear, similar to how you can save messages in Google Hangouts. That would be very helpful!
If you don’t have time to screenshot all of your snaps, try looking at them quickly and taking some notes so that you don’t forget what they were about.
The delete my account page is suspicious
Following the Cambridge Analytica scandal, Facebook announced that it was testing a “delete my account” feature. Users could try it out for a limited time to see if they liked it and if it worked.
It was only available for a few days, and there was no way to permanently delete your account. Once you activated the test, you had to do more research to learn how to truly delete your account.
However, as with most things Facebook, the test wasn’t totally transparent. There’s a good chance that unless you were very careful, you didn’t actually permanently delete your account.
A Twitter user recently noticed that if you went to the “delete my account” page, there was no confirmation button. Instead, there was only a link that took you to your profile page. If you weren’t paying close attention, you might have accidentally clicked the link and left your profile active.
There are many other reasons why Snapchat is terrible
While the loss of Snapchat stories is a big deal, there are many other reasons to bemoan the app.
Many have accused it of facilitating casual sexism by allowing users to send photos that disappear in seconds, but which can still be circulated widely.
It has also been criticized for its confusing interface and for not being as user-friendly as some of the other social media apps.
Its reputation as the “sext” app has also led to it being banned in many workplaces and schools, and has even cost it millions in revenue.
In fact, just last month Business Insider reported that more than 1 million users had stopped using Snapchat due to school and workplace bans — and that was before the Facebook Clonecat fiasco!
There are plenty of good reasons to quit Snapchat, then — even if you’re not planning on switching to Facebook anytime soon.