Skip to content

How To Change Twitter Privacy Settings?

Twitter is a great platform for social media enthusiasts and professionals. With millions of users, there is always a crowd to fit any niche or audience you are looking to reach.

With such a large and diverse userbase, however, comes the need to protect your privacy. Settings do not go far enough as they only limit who can see your content- you can still be exposed to trolls and harassment!

Privacy settings can be changed by going to the Settings menu on the top right of the screen, then clicking on Privacy and Safety. Here you can change your personal privacy, account privacy, how you receive notifications, how you enable authentication apps, and who can follow you.

Click on Settings

Next, you’ll want to click on Settings. This can be found in the top right of the main Twitter page. Once there, you’ll want to click on Privacy and Safety.

Here, you’ll be able to change your personal settings, manage your account and security settings, and manage your privacy settings.

Personal settings include being able to edit your profile and how others can find you via search. Account and security settings include changing your password and enabling two-factor authentication.

You can also manage your privacy level under privacy settings. You have four options: private, public, protected, and anonymous. Private is the default setting and only allows approved followers to see your tweets; anyone else will need to request permission to follow you. Public allows all users to see your tweets regardless of whether or not they are a follower. Protected allows only approved followers to see your tweets while anyone else can view your profile information but not your posts. Anonymous does not display any information other than your account name.

Click on Privacy

Next, you will want to access your privacy settings. To do this, click on your profile name in the top right and go to Settings and Privacy. Here you will be able to edit your profile information, edit who can find you, who can follow you, and how people can interact with you.

You can make your account private so only approved followers can see your content. You can also set your tweets to private so only approved followers can read your tweets.

These settings can be changed at any time, so if you are not ready for privacy yet, don’t worry! You can come back and change it when you are comfortable.

Some people choose to make their accounts private because they do not want random followers or because they want to control who sees their content.

Decide who can see your profile

If you want to keep your Twitter profile private, you can do that. You can make your profile visible to selected people, such as your friends or colleagues, or make your profile visible to no one except yourself.

You can’t make your account private if you already have followers, however. If you already have a public account and want to change it to a private one, you will have to delete all of the people who follow you and re-add them as followers.

If you decide you want to make your account public again, you will have to re-add all of your followers. You also cannot change from private to public more than once every 30 days.

There are two different ways to make your Twitter profile private. The first is by going into your settings and selecting “private account” when setting up your account; this only happens during the creation process. The second is by changing your settings later on.

Decide who can follow you

If you do not want people to find you on Twitter, then you can disable the ability for other users to find and follow you. You can do this by setting your account to private.

When your account is set to private, only people you approve through the login process can see your content. Anyone attempting to look up your account will need to be given access by you or someone already following you.

This is a good setting if you want to make Tweets but do not want random people finding you. You can still grow your audience as well as keep your profile private.

There are two settings for privacy: private and public. Private is exactly what it says, only people you approve can see your content, and the other way is public, where anyone can see your content.

Decide what tweets you want to make public

Once you’ve set your account to be private, you can decide which tweets you want to make public. You have the option to delete old tweets, or make them private as well.

To do this, go to your profile, then tap and go to the Settings and Privacy section. Here, you can edit your bio, change your profile photo, and edit who can follow you.

Under the Privacy section, you can edit your Twitter history. Here, you can choose to turn off privacy so people can see all of your tweets, make older tweets private so only approved followers or followers you’ve interacted with can see them, or delete them all.

Twitter also offers an tool called Clear History that lets you completely erase all of your past tweets.

Create a list of approved users or websites that can retweet your tweets

 

A great way to use Twitter is to find people you follow who tweet great content and retweet them on your own account.

However, if you want to really grow your account, you need to start tweeting yourself and encouraging others to retweet your posts.

By creating a list of approved users or websites that can retweet your tweets, you can gain more exposure on Twitter. This is because users have to turn on the option to retweet from lists.

You can make a public account which allows anyone to follow and retweet your content, or you can make a private account where only approved users can follow and retweet your content. Make sure to check both settings when creating an account!

Both of these settings can be found in the privacy settings menu.

Create a list of approved users or websites that can forward you messages

If you want to stay up to date on what’s happening in the world, in your city, or in your industry, then getting Twitter notifications is a good thing.

However, if you get too many notifications, it can become overwhelming and distracting. Others may also feel the same way about receiving your notifications.

That’s why it’s important to know how to change Twitter privacy settings so that you can filter out unwanted accounts or tweets.

You can create a list of approved users or websites that can forward you messages using the Direct Messages feature. This way only people you trust can send you messages and don’t have to worry about spam.

Also, you can limit who can send you DMs by changing the privacy settings for your account. You could also choose to only receive Direct Messages from approved users or registered accounts.

Choose whether or how others can search for you

Next, you’ll want to decide whether or not people can find you on Twitter by searching for your account. If you do not add additional information to your profile, people can find you by using your account name.

If you would like to limit who can find you, you can set your account to private. This means that people need to accept a friend request in order to see your content.

You can also set up a protected account, meaning that people cannot follow you unless they know your account identity. Both of these settings prevent search engines from picking up your content, as only approved followers can see your posts.

If you would like people to be able to find you but do not want them to have access to your content, consider setting your account to private but providing a fake name or personal info on your profile. This way, people can search for you but will not find personal information about you.

nv-author-image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *